Product Detail

Products » Orthodox Music (CDs) » Orthodox Liturgical Music & Chants


Akathist of Thanksgiving
"Glory to God for All Things" with Little Compline (CD)
by St. Ignatius of Antioch Orthodox Christian Mission

Akathist of Thanksgiving "Glory to God for All Things" with Little Compline (CD) by St. Ignatius of Antioch Orthodox Christian Mission
  • Description
  • Reviews

It is said that Father Gregory Petroff was murdered while in a prison camp, but not before he was able to pen the poignant Akathist of Thanksgiving, giving to the Church and to the world light from great darkness, reminding us that even in the midst of frightful suffering true Christian conviction and courage are unconquerable.

This is a recording of an actual Akathist service (literally "not sitting") with Little Compline. The most well known Akathist service is the Akathist Hymn to the Mother of God sung during Great Lent. The subject of this Akathist is thankfulness, (also known as the Akathist "Glory to God for all things"), and is sung here in commemoration of the holy "New Martyrs" of Russia who in the last century died under Bolshevism and Communism. Though little is known for certain about this hymn, the text is said to have been written around 1942 by the Archpriest Gregory Petroff, one of the Christian hieromartyrs (priest martyr), while suffering before his execution in a Soviet prison camp. An estimated 45 million people or more were slain under Bolshevism and Communism, and it is in honor of the continued and living faith of these Christian martyrs that this service gives praise. The service is sung in English. The liner notes include the entire text of the Akathist of Thanksgiving.

St. Ignatius of Antioch Orthodox Christian Mission in Madison, Wisconsin, has long had a special fondness for this service. We are pleased to share with your their beautiful offering of this Akathist Service in English, hoping that others will receive as great a blessing from hearing this poignant service as they do when they pray it.

This CD also includes a the hymn "O, Pure Virgin" by St. Nektarios of Aegina.

Total Recording Time: 64:42:00

Track Listing

Title   Sample
1. O Heavenly King/The Trisagion/Come, Let Us Worship  
2. Psalms 50, 69, 142
3. The Little Doxology & The Creed
4. Akathist: Kontakion & Ikos 1
5. Akathist: Kontakion & Ikos 2
6. Akathist: Kontakion & Ikos 3
7. Akathist: Kontakion & Ikos 4
8. Akathist: Kontakion & Ikos 5
9. Akathist: Kontakion & Ikos 6
10. Akathist: Kontakion & Ikos 7
11. Akathist: Kontakion & Ikos 8  
12. Akathist: Kontakion & Ikos 9
13. Akathist: Kontakion & Ikos 10
14. Akathist: Kontakion & Ikos 11
15. Akathist: Kontakion & Ikos 12  
16. Akathist: Kontakion 13
17. Megalynarion
18. The Trisagion
19. Troparion to the New Martyrs of Russia
20. Kontakion to the New Martyrs of Russia
21. The 40 "Lord, have mercies"  
22. The Little Dismissal
23. O Pure Virgin

Product Details

  • Choir: St. Ignatius of Antioch Antiochian Orthodox Christian Mission
  • Composer: The Very Reverend Father Gregory Petroff
  • Audio CD (December 20, 2002)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • ASIN: B000083XNM
Product Reviews

Be the first to review this product.
You must be logged in to submit a review.

Price: $17.00
Add to cart

« Previous | Next »



Christ is Born! Orthodox Hymns for the Nativity of Christ (CD) by the Monks of Holy Cross Monastery

Byzantine Christmas performed by Romeiko Ensemble conducted by Dr. Yorgos Bilalis

Kontakion on the Nativity of Christ composed by Richard Toensing

A Byzantine Christmas Carol: Hymns of the Christian East Choir of St George Antiochian Orthodox Cathedral

Good and Faithful Servant (CD) performed by the Choir of St. Nicholas Orthodox Church

Cycles of Grace: Hymns from the Great Feasts by Fr. Apostolos Hill

Give an
Gift Certificate!

» Get Details